top of page

New Start in Newtownards


It's been nearly a week since I arrived here in Northern Ireland and I am loving it. The people are incredibly friendly and welcoming and I am really enjoying everything I'm getting involved with. The biggest plus of all of course is hearing the Northern Irish accent 24/7.

The photo above (courtesy of the internet) shows the town where I am staying, Newtownards where I've been helping out at Scrabo Hall church. For the next four weeks I'll be staying with different families who live in and around the town. This past week I've been staying with Robert and Muriel Hamilton who have been incredibly welcoming and have been spoiling me rotten so a big shoutout to them!

So what have I been doing? Basically, what haven't I been doing! This past week I've been helping out at all kinds of kids clubs e.g. Tiny Tots, Senior Girls, Episode One etc, have done some visitation with Robert which I really enjoyed as well as helping out at this event called Life Exhibition. I had never heard of this before I arrived here. It's basically interactive material which is used to tell kids and adults about Jesus and the Gospel. I think a church will pay to have it for the week and invite kids from nearby schools to come and try it. The kids love it and they all get a tablet for the hour which has different videos and quizes for every different pod which of course they really enjoy. I think it's great and I really enjoyed seeing how it works and even getting involved.

Apart from this, a lot of the time I've just been watching the pros at work and seeing what's going on at Scrabo Hall which is a lot! The two pros who are looking after me during my time here are Niomi McCullough (who is also my mentor) and Glenn Johnstone who are the two youth workers at Scrabo Hall. Glenn works mostly in the primary schools whilst Niomi with the youth. Although I know I've only seen a glimpse of the work that they do, it's been amazing to see and hopefully in the next fews weeks, to become a small part of.

It really has been a great week and although it's been fairly busy, it looks like next week will be busier so I would be grateful if you could pray for that! Everyone has made me feel so welcome and have been very hospitable but I am finding it quite exhausting meeting and trying to get to know so many new people so prayers for peace and good sleep would be appreciated. It is hard being in a completely new place where you really don't have anyone who you really know to chat to, especially after being at Tilsley College where you're constantly surrounded by brothers and sisters. They are incredible people who constantly challenged and encouraged me and of course had great banter. I really do miss them all, although one of them came over to visit the church for the weekend for his girlfriend's birthday so it was good to see a familiar face! The people here are great though and even though I'm only just getting to know them, I can clearly see their passion and love for God and the close friendships they share through this.

One thing I have found is that because I have no idea what I'll be doing from day to day or what I will be facing, I am having to rely on God a lot more to see me through each day which is scary but also amazing. It is in a sense living by faith which is challenging me and forcing me to grow spiritually which is great. Again this week I'm struck at how God works in so many different people's lives both in the big and small and how He truly transforms us to become the people He created us to be. I dread to think who I'd be without Him.

Thank you to all who take the time to read this and who continually offer support, I really appreciate it and hope you're enjoying it. Love you all!

TTFN,

Lottie xx

RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page