top of page

A New Yaah in Tanzania


I hope you have all had a happy New Year and that it's treating you well so far! As I hope you know or have guessed by now, I have arrived in the beautiful country of Tanzania! I arrived on Tuesday afternoon where Steve and Gill Davies, the couple who are putting up with me for 3 months, kindly picked me up from the airport after it took me two hours to get through. After about 5 minutes of standing in the airport I realised how much of a mistake leggings and a jumper were. It is hot, hot, hot!

Anyway, before I rant on about my busy week let me explain a bit about Tanzania and what Gill and Steve do here. Gill and Steve are missionaries living on the outskirts of Tanzania's largest, and unofficial capital city, Dar es Salaam and have been here for 14 years now. Being one of the largest countries in Africa, it holds a large population and large variety of languages, 125 living languages in all. However, the main language spoken is Kiswahili in which Steve and Gill are both fluent.

Here's a few quick facts about the country: Tanzania is also home to the famous Mount Kilamanjaro which, no I won't be climbing. Duke of Edinburgh was more than enough for me! The people here are mainly subsistence farmers with a very small majority of wealthy Arab and Asian business families. The driving here is just mad although the bajijis (basically African tut tuts) are quite fun. Rush hour in the city is between half 5 and 9 so what normally is a 30 minute drive back from the city can take hours. During the traffic you can just about buy everything as people walk in between the cars selling anything from nuts and fruit to car pumps and scales. There are some really cute ice cream bicycles though.

In Gill and Steve's time here, they have built and set up a day care centre called Watoto wa Thamani (precious children) for 4-6 year olds which offers two meals a day and free education. In Tanzania, children can't get into primary school unless they pass a test in which they must have basic numeracy and literacy skills to even be considered. They also run two kids clubs, one in the city and one at the kindergarten for all kids 16 and under. Apart from this, Gill and Steve both help out in the community and try and support the people that come to them in need. Whether this is providing food, building a house or toilet or paying for medical treatment, they try and provide as much as their funds allow them to.

Since I've arrived I've been able to see a little of what they do here. It's been a fairly busy week! Even though the kindergarten term doesn't start until Wednesday, there has been plenty to prepare for. In my first few days I've helped Gill put together gifts and unpack toys donated and brought back from the UK and sort out a few bits. She also took me to the beach whilst we went over a bit of Kiswahili which I seem to be frustratingly slow at learning but hopefully if I put the work in, I'll get it eventually. Apart from a swim another bonus was getting to ride back in a bajaji!

We've also had to do some shopping for supplies for the new term. Some of which we had to do in the city where I experienced how shopping is really done in Tanzania. Basically it takes ages.The picture below shows Gill and Steve buying stationary in bulk towards the end of our 2 period in the shop. However the people are always friendly and know how to have a laugh so it's never been dull, even though I sometimes have no idea what's being said!

Today I attended the small church Steve and Gill started which is held at the kindergarten. Despite my very, very poor Kiswahili, everyone made such an effort to welcome me and a few who spoke English chatted to me for a while. Steve kindly translated throughout the service and I was surprised to find that I knew the tunes to most of the songs so even if the swahili wasn't clear I could hum along. When we got back, Steve and Gill reminded me we had to cut and mince the meat for the kids' school meals as they get meat once a week. I wasn't expecting half a cow! I was told to try and pick up the massive slab and after finally doing it, with Steve and Gill laughing at me threatening to turn vegetarian, I sucked it up and got cutting. I think I can quite safely say I don't think I'll be a butcher anytime soon.

So far I've been having a great time! Gill and Steve have made me feel right at home and have been trying to introduce me to the different aspects of Tanzanian culture. Although sometimes the heat causes me to miss Scottish weather (never thought I'd say that) I know next week is going to be very busy. I'm slightly anxious partly because of the langauge barrier and partly because everything is so new but I know God is with me and wants to use me here. Someone shared this following quote with me just before I left that has encouraged and comforted me since being here:

'As we age we lose the ability to distinguish between the negative anxiety associated with work, stress, and tension, and the positive type that's a natural and exciting part of trying something new. As a result we become more fearful and avoid anxiety-producing situations. When that happens, the desire for safety keeps us stuck in neutral. Trying to avoid risk is like trying to avoid living; without a goal to strive for you stop growing altogether.'

- Dr Bernard Vittone

Being in a strange country, learning a new language and doing something I've never done before at times terrifies me. At times I feel completely inadequate and wonder why on earth I even volunteered but then I feel a steady hand keeping me close and I know I'm not doing it alone. It is through these anxious moments that I feel closest to God as He supports me and gives me the strength and courage I need to complete the tasks before me because many of them I certainly could not do on my own and if I tried (and have tried) it never goes too well! They're the cringy moments I try to avoid!

So I'm doing well and instead of spiders in the house I've got geckos so life is pretty good! I'm sorry if this was pretty long, I've tried to cut it down! Thank you to everyone for the lovely messages and prayers for a safe journey and time out here and to the people who read this. I will try and get a post out regularly although the internet (and my laptop) aren't always reliable.

Mungu akubariki! (Means God bless you in Kiswahili)

TTFN,

Lottie xx


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page