top of page

Been there, Done that


The past week has been pretty spectacular. Driving 1000 miles up to Moshi in the North of Tanzania, going on safari and seeing the breathtaking scenery Tanzania has to offer, has been a very welcome half way break. So here's a few things I've experienced:

1. The extent of bad driving in Tanzania. Being in Dar Es Salaam has definitely opened my eyes to the differences in Highway Codes, knowing that the horn is well used and traffic jams take on a whole new meaning. However, after more than 25 hours on the road and seeing a few overturned vehicles, it made me realise it's not just Dar Es Salaam that has the problem!

2. Seeing animals galore. Gill and Steve very kindly took me to Mikumi National Park near Morogoro where we saw zebras, giraffes, elephants, hippos, crocodiles etc. The list goes on! The whole experience was truly amazing. Saying I took a few photos on my camera would be an understatement!

3. Lions. This is definitely one ticked off the bucket list. You don't always see the big cats when you go on safari so we were very lucky to spot some and even saw a lioness and her cub quite close up.

4. Learnt a lot more about the specialities of Tanzania. Along the way we passed village after village and it soon became clear that each one had a speciality. Whether that was oranges, pineapples or bananas; mats and baskets; sunflowers; rice paddies; sugarcane; firewood; charcoal; sisal (used to make rope); or even some ridiculous bird toys, they all had something to offer.

5. Glamping in its best form. When Gill and Steve said we'd be staying in tents in the middle of Mikumi Park, I thought that it was definitely going to be an experience. They didn't mention these tents had a bed, shower and toilet with power sockets! Now just before any of you start thinking, "I thought she was doing charity work, not gallivanting across the country", I feel I should say I paid for the experience out of my own pocket and not the funds so generously donated. Well worth it though! It was the best kind of surprise and although can't say I'd ever gone glamping before, it was a very fabulous experience.

6. So many people. Now this may seem like a stupid thing to comment on but seeing hundreds of villages and thousands of huts made me realise how big the world actually is. Sure I know the world's population is massive but actually thinking about how many homes there are, how many families, how many lives, hit me for the first time.

The bit that made me think though is how much God cares for and loves each and every one of us when we are so numerous and our lives so fragile. That He made each of us unique and different and has handcrafted a plan for each life and wants to be a part of it. That's the mind boggling part.

7. Mount Kilimanjaro. Another one for the bucket list! Moshi is actually very close to Mount Kili and so I got quite a few peaks of it (I know I'm too punny). Of course I didn't climb it, wouldn't want to ruin a nice relaxing holiday.

8. Getting to meet other missionaries. I actually found this a very valuable and also challenging experience. I met two couples, Todd and Anne from America who put us up for the night in Morogoro on the Sunday and then Eunice and William from England who have been missionaries in Moshi. They have just retired from the mission field and were leaving to go and live in South Africa with their family. Gill and Steve took the trip up to Moshi to say a last goodbye to their friends and they kindly invited me along to the farewell meal.

I feel so privileged to have met, not only Steve and Gill, but also these other two couples and hear how the Lord is using them to change the lives and hearts of Tanzanians. It was incredible to hear not only about the work they do and have done but also to see them come to the end of their service here. One thing that's become obvious to me is that missionaries aren't the holy, perfect people the stereotype makes them out to be. They're just ordinary people who are willing to give everything to a holy and perfect God. Through this, God has and is using them to do the extraordinary.

9. The beauty of air conditioning. During our stay in Moshi, the rooms where we were staying had AC and for the first time since arriving, I actually needed the bed sheet to keep me warm. This might seem like a small detail but I'm starting to realise that over here, you appreciate them a lot more. What with power cuts, water shortages and the unrelenting heat, I'm thanking the Lord for these daily as I'm made more aware of how much He gives us.

10. Mountains, Masai and mud. Along the way, especially getting closer to Moshi, the flat landscape suddenly seemed to have an abundance of hills and mountains. What was truly amazing though was that people actually lived and planted crops on them, sometimes near the very top. With no roads or ski lifts, I can't say I'd find the views worth the long climb and probably lack of visiting neighbours!

Of course, it wouldn't be Tanzania without its famous Masai tribe. Whilst in Dar, most Masai warriors work as security guards because of their renowned fearlessness, on the drive, they were seen on the side of the road cooking goat to sell to drivers or looking after cattle. We even saw two Masai warriors on a motorbike which was a bit surreal!

But what's so great about mud? It's actually pretty good stuff! Tanzanians use the mud to built their homes. There are two options. The first is the cheapest option where a structure is built using thin sticks of wood and then a hole is dug and they make clay by stepping in it with their feet. This is then rolled up into balls to fill the gaps in between the frame and then covered with a smooth outer layer. The roof is normally made of grass but can be corrugated iron if they have a better income. Another way of using the mud is by forming bricks and then piling them into a mound. This is then covered in more mud and a fire is put underneath which then bakes the bricks. This is a more expensive option and requires someone skilled to make them.

11. The brilliance of Tanzania. After clocking up the miles in the past week, I really got to see the beauty of the country. The stunning landscape and sunny weather helps of course, but also the genuine friendly smiles of the people and the colourful clothes and fruits all add to the vibrant atmosphere. It made me aware of God's overpowering glory all over again and his creative mind in seeing all He has blessed us with.

12. God works best in vulnerability. Being away gave me a good chance to reflect on my time so far. If you've been reading my posts so far, you've probably realised there are times I struggle. However, my vulnerability has made God's strength all the more apparent to me and hopefully to others. This verse from the Psalms sums it up perfectly.

'But you, Lord, are a shield around me, my glory, the One who lifts my head high.' Psalm 3:3

He is my glory and my strength and when the world tries to smother me, He is teaching me to keep my eyes on him. After all, is there anything more beautiful than the loving arms of the Father?

Lottie xx


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page